Join the millions that use us for their forum communities. Create your own forum today.
InvisionFree - Free Forum Hosting
Welcome to The Daemonic Legion. We hope you enjoy your visit.

You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use. If you join our community, you'll be able to access member-only sections, and use many member-only features such as customizing your profile, sending personal messages, and voting in polls. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free.

Join our community!

If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:

Name:   Password:

Lord of Change white robe, Lord of Change white robe help
Sir G.
Posted: Jul 26 2014, 03:56 PM

Lil' Nurgling

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,810

Hi all,

So, I recently started painting an old metal Lord Of Change miniature, and I'm not pleased with how the robe is turning out.

user posted image
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image

I used a white primer, a layer of white scar, nuln oil, and white scar again.

In my opinion the contrast is too high and the highlights are "off".
I'm looking for ways to lower the contrast and improve the looks in general.

I'm not blessed with a steady hand and simply covering it with a white wash would make pools of white in the recesses...

any tips?

Thanks!
Brad
Posted: Jul 26 2014, 05:44 PM

Plaguebearer

Member No.: 2,527

It looks pretty good to me.

But if you're certain, try a lighter/browner shade of wash. I'm not familiar with the current range of GW paints, but in the old scheme I probably would have used something like a bleached bone base, very thin snakebite leather wash, and fairly heavy skull white highlight.
gjnoronh
Posted: Jul 27 2014, 06:52 AM

Lord of the Skull Throne

Group: Admin
Member No.: 126