Title: Net of amyntok
God of war - April 28, 2012 09:17 AM (GMT)
a question about the net. This one hit me when I saw a post in another topic (how to battle a slann).
When I cast this on a slann in his unit of temple guard, an the slann wants to cast, does he fail on a 4+, or can he use the strength of the TG for this, thus failing on a 5+.
In either case, it's awesome, locking down a slann or a 4 or 5+!
DaemonReign - April 28, 2012 10:30 AM (GMT)
Speaking strictly 'spontaneously' here, I can think of no reason why the Slann would be using any other S-value than his own. :)
Victorvictor6 - April 28, 2012 11:33 AM (GMT)
I had this in a game, but when using spell lores from the main rulebook ,all the other basic and advance rules come in play from the main rulebook. So you use the highest characteristic in the unit. (p10).
DaemonReign - April 28, 2012 12:15 PM (GMT)
So - essentially - if the Slaan wants to cast a spell, you test against the TempleGuards' Strength value?
Doesn't the wording of the spell off-set this?
'Must pass a S-test before attempting to Move, fight, shoot, cast spells, etecetera' (?)
Seems very counter-intuitive to me.
That being said, I'm sure you're right. :)
brother_maynard - April 28, 2012 01:30 PM (GMT)
Its in the rules for stat tests, DReign, you use the highest value in the unit. That's why our nurgle spells are so awesome. Note that the temple guard don't get the +1 S for their halberds in this case.
DaemonReign - April 28, 2012 02:32 PM (GMT)
Yeah I know..
Like if the 'unit' tried to move of course it should use its Highest S-value.
It's just.. well.. if the Slann (specifically) tries to perform an action (like casting a spell) I just thought... well, nothing really.. I didn't think *haha* I guess that's the problem..
Guess I'm too used to the Lore of Nurgle or something.. :)
God of war - April 28, 2012 04:06 PM (GMT)
I've got the same feeling, Dreign ;) .
Apart from that,do you guys think of the spell as useful against the slann? In other words, will you attempt it each magic phase or not?
brother_maynard - April 28, 2012 04:20 PM (GMT)
i think its a great spell to draw out dice in that scenario. its not worth throwing a lot of dice at because the chance of success are not great but the LM player can't ignore it. i would suggest throwing 3 dice at it if you need to get pha's or birona's through later in the phase.
personally i'd be using it to keep the chameleons under control rather than the slann.
brother_maynard - April 28, 2012 04:22 PM (GMT)
another question is: if a unit with the net breaks from combat and fails the test, are they automatically caught?
bonesaww666 - April 28, 2012 05:44 PM (GMT)
I would say so, as it states they just cant move... Doesn't say only in the movement phase.
God of war - April 28, 2012 07:52 PM (GMT)
Vaguely Sane - April 28, 2012 08:43 PM (GMT)
you don't play daemons to spread the love :D
bonesaww666 - April 28, 2012 09:45 PM (GMT)
Well I used that to slaughter a Gutstar with my GuO so I hope it's legal!
Kissing - April 29, 2012 11:22 AM (GMT)
Yup, if an unit uner the net has to flee and fail Str Test, they flee by 0…you need to chase to catch them still, but you "auto catch" them in your chase.
God of war - April 29, 2012 05:01 PM (GMT)
Makes sense, I'll play it that way.
Kissing - April 29, 2012 07:28 PM (GMT)
Another way you can play the Net is versus WM "so you got Toughness but no Init nor Str? well autofail you cant shoot…thanks for coming :D "