Title: A Few Nurgle Questions.
CobraCommander - April 18, 2012 12:47 AM (GMT)
So I was in the middle of a game, trying out a Mono-god Nurgle Daemons list for the first time ever(loved it by the way) and I had a few questions.
1. What unit type are Nurglings? It doesn't specify what they are in their unit entry, and I checked the FAW/Errata, but I got nothing again. I kind of assumed they would be swarms, but it doesn't mention that. I was also unsure how supporting attacks would work with them. They have three, but I assume they only get one supporting attack, which would feel a little bit like a waste to have them ranked up. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I kind of feel I should just count them as swarms, since I believe that's what they were classified in older books.
2. In the same game, I had my Lvl1 cast Shrivelling Pox on my enemies BSB. I know they fixed it in the Errate, so it was a legal target, but my opponent wondered if a "Look Out Sir!" could be taken against the spell. Since the Daemon spells are not up to date, I came to the conclusion that it wasn't a Magic Missile, but was unsure how to proceed from there. I looked at "Fate of Bjuna" (sp?) which has a similar effect, and it's classed as a Direct Damage, but we didn't move much farther with the debate because he passed the toughness test, although for future games it would be handy to know.
Thanks in advance
Edit: Actually just thought of another question to ask. With some of the Daemons spells or Gifts, it talks about "Models in base contact" Is this talking about models directly in base contact with with the Daemon being effected, or in fact the unit as a whole. A few examples I've found are the Nurgle spell "Miasma of Pestilence" which I can assume it is only referring to models directly in base contact being under the effects, which makes sense. But then I look at the Daemonic Gift "Enrapturing Gaze" which I would assume effects the unit as a whole, which again makes sense. I would assume it would be utterly useless otherwise. Thanks.
bonesaww666 - April 18, 2012 01:10 AM (GMT)
I have had some interesting debates about the whole B2B issue and I believe that it would be anyone in support attack range as in B2B, no? As the only way to attack someone in CC is to technically be in contact? Amongst our GG I know we have ruled in favor of logic with Night Shroud and the Spells/Gifts.
Lord Tremendous - April 18, 2012 06:14 AM (GMT)
1. Nurglings are Swarms. Plain simple and too the point. All rules that apply to swarms apply to our nurglings. (With the exception of break tests, nurglings take break test just like the rest of our army does)
2. Pox is a Direct Damage spell and therefore should be used as such. Also, since the wording specifically tells you to chose a model there is no look out sir roll. Its not something you see comming, its a magical effect that affects only the model you target. Think of it as a Hex that only works on the model you target. Bottom line. No look out sir.
3. If it says Base to Base it means BASE to BASE. So, for miasma of pest for example, the FRONT rank of the unit your fighting would be affected by the spell, however the supporting attack rank(s) would not be and, therefore, the supporting attacks would be made at normal stats while the front rank would be made at the modified stats.
Strykehammer - April 18, 2012 06:44 AM (GMT)
I have another question regarding Miasma. If my HoN casts this spell he is generally is BSB with 3 models, which means if my ranks are 5 wide everyone will be in BSB with the affected unit. Can I attack with my whole unit against the weakened models as they step up?
Noisy Assassin - April 18, 2012 02:45 PM (GMT)
|QUOTE (Strykehammer @ Apr 18 2012, 01:44 AM)|
| I have another question regarding Miasma. If my HoN casts this spell he is generally is BSB with 3 models, which means if my ranks are 5 wide everyone will be in BSB with the affected unit. Can I attack with my whole unit against the weakened models as they step up? |
Yup! ^ . ^
CobraCommander - April 19, 2012 09:33 AM (GMT)
Alright, so I've got another question. Is Enrapturing Gaze useless? So it stops models in BtB from using anothers leadership, but does that mean say if you were in CC with a block of infantry, someone who isn't in BtB with the daemon could use someone elses? That seems...Lame.
Edit: I just thought of another question. If you use Siren Song, does the unit you pick have to make the choice immediately? From my understanding the order of operation for dealing with charges is to declare all your charging units, and then resolve them in the order they were declared in. If that were the case, would you opponent be able to leave the targetted unit until last, and using his other declared chargers to block the targetted unit so it no longer able to charge under the normal rules?
JonathanC - April 19, 2012 09:26 PM (GMT)
I'm not sure about the Siren Song, but you are correct about the Enrapturing Gaze. Its main use is against monsters/monstrous infantry where you are more likely to be in contact with the full unit. The other use is to combine it with some of the other gifts like Allure of Slaanesh and Temptator.