View Full Version: Transformation of Kadon and a LOC

The Daemonic Legion > Rules Questions - WFB and 40K > Transformation of Kadon and a LOC


Title: Transformation of Kadon and a LOC


Finnigan2004 - December 6, 2010 01:13 AM (GMT)
I was discussing an interesting question today, which happened to be meaningless in the game that I was playing. Do you guys think that you can cast Transformation of Kadon on a LOC. I'm inclined to think so, but it says model on foot. A LOC is a flying monster. I know that the slann got ruled against with this spell, but it never occurred to me before that a LOC might not be able to cast it.

Noisy Assassin - December 6, 2010 05:33 AM (GMT)
In the Slaan ruling, they don't give a reason, but in the answer to the next question about the Magic Carpet it specifically states that the Slaan doesn't count as a model on foot (maybe because of his little levitating platform dealy?).

Transformation doesn't specify "infantry" on foot, so the LoC gets off clean on being a monster. The only remaining question is then whether a model with the Fly special rule count as being on foot, and I don't see anything in the rules to suggest that they don't. The "on foot" stipulation seems like it's mainly to prevent characters from having to dismount from steeds or chariots when they transform.

The Dark Lord - December 6, 2010 11:19 AM (GMT)
I can't see any problem with it either. ;)
Although using a Herald to turn into a monster with a 4+ ward save might be more effective. :)

TombSimon - December 8, 2010 10:42 PM (GMT)
Doesn't the Special Rules of the monster overrule the ones of the Herald/LOC? Or else, the mighty Fire Dragon needs to test for Instability if it loses a combat Round :blink:

Noisy Assassin - December 9, 2010 04:01 AM (GMT)
QUOTE
Or else, the mighty Fire Dragon needs to test for Instability if it loses a combat Round


Unfortunately....yes. It only states that magical and mundane equipment stops working, but doesn't state that special rules cease to apply. So he does have to test for instability, but he still gets his Ward save, and any Gifts taken will still apply.

The Dark Lord - December 9, 2010 09:38 AM (GMT)
Better with instability than actually fleeing, right? ;)

xilton - December 9, 2010 01:48 PM (GMT)
I thought he would lose all his personal stats including his inv. and gifts

LAV-Kitsune- - December 9, 2010 04:39 PM (GMT)
QUOTE
Whilst transformed, the wizard cannot channel or cast spells, and all of his magic items and mundane equipment (armour, weapons, etc.) temporarily stop working.

These are all restrictions that apply on the transformed wizard. So Tzeentch herald would keep his 4+ ward and normal instability rule as normal, but would gain benefits of the monsters rules too.

Finnigan2004 - December 12, 2010 02:37 PM (GMT)
QUOTE (LAV-Kitsune- @ Dec 9 2010, 11:39 AM)
QUOTE
Whilst transformed, the wizard cannot channel or cast spells, and all of his magic items and mundane equipment (armour, weapons, etc.) temporarily stop working.

These are all restrictions that apply on the transformed wizard. So Tzeentch herald would keep his 4+ ward and normal instability rule as normal, but would gain benefits of the monsters rules too.

Right rule, although so very, very wrong in gaming terms. My vampire lord thinks this rule is great when combined with red fury.

"Your mountain chimera does what?!!!"

deviant cadaver - December 15, 2010 03:32 AM (GMT)
So fateweaver as a mountain chimera would have a 3++ and still get demonic robes and will of tzeetch. Throw on a few buff spells before you cast it and you might have the best single unit in the game.

Noisy Assassin - December 15, 2010 04:08 AM (GMT)
Not only that, but apparently the consensus is that his other head can still cast spells...pretty much he just goes NOM NOM NOM and stuff dies. Glee!

The Dark Lord - December 15, 2010 08:42 AM (GMT)
They would all have flaming attacks as well, making them ideal for taking out regenerating baddies - but also suffer the drawbacks.

Kairos looks like he could be a really strong Mountain Chimera for the reasons you mentioned (3++!). :D
As for the other head casting, that Ram head on this Chimera looks like it could be thinking up evil spells of doom. ;)

LAV-Kitsune- - December 15, 2010 09:19 AM (GMT)
Technically transformation spell only mentions wizard and Kairos indeed has two heads, but I doupt GW it was intended that one head can transform itself into a massive dragon that drags withered body of Kairos behind him. Idea of it sounds quite fun though ^.^

deviant cadaver - December 15, 2010 09:20 AM (GMT)
"each head is an accomplished level 4 wizard" vs " whilst transformed, the wizard can't channel or cast spells.


So what four spells from life metal light and heaven do you take ?

Come to think of it the blue scribes should be able to cast too then right ?




* Hosted for free by zIFBoards