|· Forum Guidelines & Rules · Portal||Help Search Members Calendar|
|Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )||Resend Validation Email|
|Welcome to UK Warmachine. We hope you enjoy your visit.|
You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use. If you join our community, you'll be able to access member-only sections, and use many member-only features such as customizing your profile, sending personal messages, and voting in polls. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free.
Join our community!
If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:
Posted: 17th Jun 2012, 11:30 AM
Member No.: 637
Joined: 25-April 12
This cropped up in my recent games, as we have just added new terrain to our collections i,e hills, and the issue is the following, Do hills block LOS?
In both the Hordes and warmachine rulebook, under the LOS entry, it states to detemine if you have LOS to another model, you need to be able to draw a line to any part of its volume, from any part of the volume of your model.
LOS must not pass through any terrain piece.
Both my opponent and myself, assumed that a hill will block LOS, but upon recently reading the LOS rules, after this was pointed out to me, Both myself and my regular opponent are not 100% sure any more, because of the following.
My model is on 1 side of a hill, my opponants model is on the other side of the hill, The hill is 1" high, both models are on a small base, and thus have a volume of 1.75" high, this allows me to draw a line to my oppents model over, not through the hill, as both models are .75" higher then the hill.
So will this give me LOS to my opponents model, or will a hill reguardless of its hight block LOS to a model on the other side of it.
This post has been edited by Madbazza on 17th Jun 2012, 11:31 AM
Posted: 18th Jun 2012, 09:17 AM
Member No.: 1
Joined: 15-June 06
That's the sort of situation the volumes are for.
So yes you would be able to draw LOS.
But that is the default situation.
I don't have a rule book to hand, but I recall there being a bit in the terrain section where the players can also agree what a particular bit of terrain does before the game starts. So you can also have it blocking LOS if you both agree it does.
My Warmachine Miniatures