InvisionFree - Free Forum Hosting
InvisionFree gives you all the tools to create a successful discussion community.

Learn More · Register for Free
Welcome to CHIL EagleCAM. We hope you enjoy your visit.

You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use. If you join our community, you'll be able to access member-only sections, and use many member-only features such as customizing your profile, sending personal messages, and voting in polls. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free.

Join our community!

If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:

Name:   Password:

From a newbie, What to look for?
ValleySubstituteTeacher
Posted: Feb 14 2012, 08:17 PM

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,244

I'm a 4th grade teacher in the San Fernando Valley, and discovered this site last year, 6 weeks after the eggs hatched. My class loved watching the fledglings take off.
Now we're in before the eggs are laid. We want to witness it if possible. Is there any behavior that they display that will indicate the process is upon us?
This is such an amazing experience. THANK YOU!!!
JoJo
Posted: Feb 15 2012, 04:36 AM

Advanced Member

Member No.: 2,329

ValleySubstituteTeacher and Class, Welcome to our Forum.

You have come at the right time, as two of our Females are about to lay at any time now. The nests are the West End Nest and the Two Harbors Nest.

My observances have been: When the time comes, they will stand over their nest bowls. They will become very puffy and go into what is called a zone (a stare). You may see signs of labor, such as pushing or bearing down. Stepping from one foot to another. If you should see feathers really puff up and the tail lift somewhat, that is usually the sign that the egg has been dropped. We have seen the process take minutes, and we have seen it take hours. It's always different.