Free shoutbox @ ShoutMix

Join the millions that use us for their forum communities. Create your own forum today.
zIFBoards - Free Forum Hosting
Welcome to Animanon. We hope you enjoy your visit.


You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use. If you join our community, you'll be able to access member-only sections, and use many member-only features such as customizing your profile, sending personal messages, and voting in polls. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free.


Join our community!


If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:

Name:   Password:


Pages: (2) [1] 2  ( Go to first unread post )

 My first project, Horse
Roygee
Posted: Nov 8 2007, 08:50 AM


Member


Group: Members
Posts: 23
Member No.: 19
Joined: 30-October 07



user posted image

user posted image

Hi all

Hope this is not a double post - my first effort din't seem to work.

Anywhoo - if this works there are two images of my first project, made using cylinders and spheres, with the image of the actual model used as texture. The aim is for it to sprout wings and morph into a robotic, fire-breathing warhorse - but that's way up the learning curve.

C & C most welcome and appreciated - especially advice on how to prevent loss of detail, darkening and shininess in the render
Top
$imon
Posted: Nov 8 2007, 11:19 AM


Advanced Member


Group: Members
Posts: 47
Member No.: 18
Joined: 30-October 07



Made of cylinders and spheres? Im curious now.. could you show a wire please? maybe from some other angles too?

Getting the texture to apply well will probably mean you have to UVmap it, and fit the horse texture on the uvmap.

Doesnt look bad so far, just dont see too much of the model, its mostly the horse photo.
Top
Kreator
Posted: Nov 8 2007, 07:39 PM


Colonel Member


Group: Members
Posts: 250
Member No.: 7
Joined: 6-June 07



Very Nice Roygee! I too would like to see a wireframe ...Just do screencopy whilst in wireframe mode to cut the shininess put specular at 0

you can lighten the terxtures in decal mode thats the Md next to textures


--------------------
why not visit my site at http://kevsworld.orgfree.com
Top
Roygee
  Posted: Nov 8 2007, 09:38 PM


Member


Group: Members
Posts: 23
Member No.: 19
Joined: 30-October 07



Thanks guys

I have tried to make a wireframe copy, but in both screencopy and render, I get smooth, even after removing the texture - could you enlighten me on how to produce a pic in wireframe? In the meantime, I've managed a copy with bones and (hopefully) attached a short video clip showing movement - using overlay in Pinnacle until I learn learn to use Terainim8or.

Setting specular to zero takes off the shine - lightening it takes out most of the colour and gives it a ghostly inner glow - I could possibly fix the colour in Pinnacle, but a lot of the detail is lost - looking at Kerkythea for a possibly better render.

Didn't use a uv map - still getting to grips with that - simply pasted a pic of the horse using Anim8or's uv tool - took about 100 attempts to get it reasonably placed - its not great in all views, but will have to do for user posted image
Top
Roygee
Posted: Nov 8 2007, 09:40 PM


Member


Group: Members
Posts: 23
Member No.: 19
Joined: 30-October 07



Nope - the video seems to be invalid for this site!
Top
Kreator
Posted: Nov 8 2007, 09:45 PM


Colonel Member


Group: Members
Posts: 250
Member No.: 7
Joined: 6-June 07



Roygee have u put the video on Youtube? just post the video link onto the site we can take care of it!

To get wireframe you want to click the 3d box next to the scissors then u can do a wireframe (in object mode) have u animated the horse yet? if so have u used weights?



--------------------
why not visit my site at http://kevsworld.orgfree.com
Top
$imon
Posted: Nov 8 2007, 10:35 PM


Advanced Member


Group: Members
Posts: 47
Member No.: 18
Joined: 30-October 07



Im not too good with animating, but you say the render looks ghostly? this should render just fine in anim8or, maybe you can show an example of that? so we can see whats wrong.
Top
Roygee
  Posted: Nov 9 2007, 06:01 AM


Member


Group: Members
Posts: 23
Member No.: 19
Joined: 30-October 07



Hi guys

Managed to get wireframe pics - the problem seems to be that I hadn't permanently converted to mesh - once I did that, it was no problem getting images by using the printscreen button instead of Ctrl +C and importing to Paint.NET. Photobucket keeps bombing out when I try to uplaod the lightened (ghostly)image!

Right, heres the wireframe
user posted image

user posted image

user posted image




I'm finding it impossible to get a realistic match between forward movement and leg movement - looks like its skating on this ice, so I've done all my video - running, jumping, etc. on the spot. Will give it a try in OpenFX - it seems you can get better movement because it doesn't have a fixed root bone
Top
Kreator
Posted: Nov 9 2007, 06:47 AM


Colonel Member


Group: Members
Posts: 250
Member No.: 7
Joined: 6-June 07



Fixedyour Video Roygee, use the website/blog code they give you copy and paste into dohtml tags.

Right now for the crits!..... I hav`nt any!! what an excellent start for a newbie! Painted weights as well! most new users can`t cope with skinning and weights for ages!

The animation needs some work though... its very hard to get a figure to walk trot or do anything normal, most stuff "skates" to start, I think its all to do with the timing and key framing.

I have been experimenting with these "keys" as they are all set to "smooth " to start with but, you can change them to key or corner.

have you tried the Graph editor in scene mode ?(nightmare piece of kit)

Let me know how you get on with OpenFx (it has gravity I think)
All in all I think this start is Excellent!



--------------------
why not visit my site at http://kevsworld.orgfree.com
Top
Kreator
Posted: Nov 9 2007, 06:59 AM


Colonel Member


Group: Members
Posts: 250
Member No.: 7
Joined: 6-June 07



Just a thought.. have you tried a reference video ( get terranim8or use animated background to get video into anim8or then adjust bones to fit video)


--------------------
why not visit my site at http://kevsworld.orgfree.com
Top
$imon
Posted: Nov 9 2007, 09:10 AM


Advanced Member


Group: Members
Posts: 47
Member No.: 18
Joined: 30-October 07



Id have quite some crits on the model, but the wireframe isnt too clear so i cant really point it out too precisely.

I dont know if you have any experience with other 3d programs? If you don't, this is about the best 'first project' ive seen.

good luck!
Top
Roygee
  Posted: Nov 9 2007, 02:24 PM


Member


Group: Members
Posts: 23
Member No.: 19
Joined: 30-October 07



Thanks a lot - yes, this is my first 3d effort, although I do a lot of video - of course, I got tremendous help from so many experts - yourselves, Raxx, Kevinaz, Bobits, headwax and many more - what a great community! I will be trying out your suggestions, but in the meantime I'll put animation on the backburner and concentrate on completing the various models to finish the project. Between Anim8or and the half-dozen others I have downloaded, I'm sure to get the animation right.

Right now I'm suffering from download fatigue and information overlaod, so I'm off to go camping in the wilds - take care and see you soon
Top
Arik_the_Red
Posted: Nov 10 2007, 04:05 PM


Administrator


Group: Admin
Posts: 165
Member No.: 1
Joined: 4-June 07



That horse shaping is great! Done with geometric shapes even?

Well, while your on "walkabout" don't let a snake bite your horsey, eh?


--------------------
Add me to IM: arik_the_red@hotmail.com

Arik the Red
Founder of AnimAnon
Join the Slow Party!
user posted image
www.theslowskys.com
Top
Roygee
  Posted: Nov 20 2007, 07:19 AM


Member


Group: Members
Posts: 23
Member No.: 19
Joined: 30-October 07



Horsey takes to the skies

Hi guys - if this works, horsey is flying ]

A couple of points I'd like guidance on
1. In the second wing flap, during takeoff, the right wing - furthest from camera - rotates on its axis and slices through the body - this certainly doesn't happen in sequence mode - I've also noticed a few other small variations in what the bones do during sequence and scene - any explanation.

2. Camera work - when trying to show forward movement, the figure very quickly moves out of camera range - I can either get the camera to keep up, which cancels out forward movement, let the camera get ahead, which makes the figure move backwards, or use multiple cameras, which gives a jerky result as the cameras switch over. In a longer sequence, this can be sorted out in video editing, but with a sequence of a couple of seconds, cover-up transitions don't work well - any suggestions?
Top
Kreator
Posted: Nov 20 2007, 09:28 PM


Colonel Member


Group: Members
Posts: 250
Member No.: 7
Joined: 6-June 07



Hey roygee Thats a cool horse Pegasus type!

Have you put Limits on the XY and Z or have you left them on " no limits" if so then this is the problem

In relation to camera have you tried using a target ? Setting that up in the positions you want, Then Attach the Camera to the Target, that may help



--------------------
why not visit my site at http://kevsworld.orgfree.com
Top
« Next Oldest | Roygee's Regalia | Next Newest »
DealsFor.me - The best sales, coupons, and discounts for you

Topic OptionsPages: (2) [1] 2 



Hosted for free by zIFBoards* (Terms of Use: Updated 2/10/2010) | Powered by Invision Power Board v1.3 Final © 2003 IPS, Inc.
Page creation time: 0.0349 seconds · Archive
ANIMANON
Animation of the Week